Belatedly Announcing The Wheel of Time Reread – Index

The last time I read The Wheel of Time was in anticipation of A Memory of Light.  The culmination of the series was a big deal for me.  I discovered The Wheel of Time shortly after The Shadow Rising (book 4) was released, which means I waited over twenty years for the series to finish.  I was a kid when I started reading it and a man when the series concluded.  In the interim I lost two immediate family members, graduated from high school, college, grad school, and law school, got my first job, got my first real job, got my first promotion, changed careers twice, lived in four states.  The Wheel of Time was a constant through all of that.  It may be the only reason I read fantasy today—for the better part of a decade I would not have read any fantasy but for a new Wheel of Time book every two or three years.  It was the excitement that the book would be finished that turned me back toward fantasy permanently.

As a kid, I reread the books obsessively, rereading each at least once in anticipation of the next book.  Later I would read the newly published book once and leave it at that.  Once I even *gas* went months after publication before buying the newest book.  A hectic life since A Memory of Light kept me from a full reread.  I got married, became a father, changed careers again, and lived in two more states.  Oh, and started two blogs.  My desire to write reread posts here was part of the delay.  Rereading four million words and writing about them is a much bigger commitment.

I delayed a reread for a long time because I wasn’t ready for the commitment of the reread posts.  Finally I decided I would never have time for the reread posts and should go ahead and just reread the posts without any obligation to post on them.  Of course as soon as I picked up the books I just had to write about them.  It has been slow going, but I am ready to admit at this point that I am committed to a full series of reread posts.  The index below will be updated as each new post is published.

Each reread posts includes a very brief summary of the plot covered in the relevant chapters, then 3-5 thoughts on the story.  They are by design brief, although “brief” will frequently mean a thousand words.  They are full spoiler posts, although I will try to not be gratuitous with the spoilers.  I expect my pattern from The Eye of the World will hold—I will start with posts that cover big chunks of the book then cover fewer chapters as the story picks up (it took me seven posts to cover The Eye of the World but I covered over half the chapters in the book in my first two posts).

As I start reread posts for each book I will also link to the reviews I wrote of each book during my pre-A Memory of Light reread.

If you are looking for a first read series on The Wheel of Time, I can recommend two that are excellent:

Big Read: The Wheel of Time at The Adventures of a Bookworm

Reading The Wheel of Time at Tor.com

Index

The Eye of the World

The Great Hunt

About H.P.

Blogs on books at Every Day Should Be Tuesday (speculative fiction) and Hillbilly Highways (country noir and nonfiction). https://everydayshouldbetuesday.wordpress.com/ https://hillbillyhighways.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Fantasy, Sundry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Belatedly Announcing The Wheel of Time Reread – Index

  1. Bookstooge says:

    The “Index” isn’t clickable. I’m assuming it was meant to be? In conjunction, will you be creating a new tab at the top of your page next to Throwback SF, or will it be somewhere else?

    I’m also interested in what kind of search hits a dedicated page to that kind of thing gets.

    Liked by 1 person

    • H.P. says:

      The post itself is the index.

      I have it stickied to the top of my blog. I will think about adding a tab or something.

      I actually have REALLY good SEO for The Wheel of Time. I will add a link to my three most popular WOT posts and hopefully they will start pulling over traffic. I’ve used index posts for all my other big post series and they seem to really help.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Rereading The Eye of the World, chapters 1-12 | Every Day Should Be Tuesday

  3. Pingback: Rereading The Eye of the World, chapters 13-30 | Every Day Should Be Tuesday

  4. Pingback: Rereading The Eye of the World, chapters 31-36 | Every Day Should Be Tuesday

  5. Pingback: Rereading The Eye of the World, chapters 37-42 | Every Day Should Be Tuesday

  6. Pingback: Rereading The Eye of the World, chapters 43-46 | Every Day Should Be Tuesday

  7. Pingback: Rereading The Eye of the World, chapters 47-48 | Every Day Should Be Tuesday

  8. Pingback: Rereading The Eye of the World, chapters 49-53 | Every Day Should Be Tuesday

  9. Pingback: Ranking the New Wheel of Time Covers | Every Day Should Be Tuesday

  10. Pingback: Ranking the Original Wheel of Time Covers | Every Day Should Be Tuesday

  11. Pingback: The Six Main Characters in The Wheel of Time | Every Day Should Be Tuesday

  12. Pingback: Rereading The Great Hunt, chapters 1-8 | Every Day Should Be Tuesday

  13. Pingback: June 2020 Month-in-Review | Every Day Should Be Tuesday

  14. Pingback: Rereading The Great Hunt, chapters 9-12 | Every Day Should Be Tuesday

  15. Pingback: Rereading The Great Hunt, chapters 13-17 | Every Day Should Be Tuesday

  16. Pingback: Rereading The Great Hunt, chapters 18-22 | Every Day Should Be Tuesday

  17. Don Proven says:

    Interesting, I just started a reread (actually I never got past the 11 book). I just got tired of the plot not going anywhere. Going to power thru this time to see the Last Battle dammit!

    Liked by 1 person

  18. Pingback: Rereading The Great Hunt, chapters 23-28 | Every Day Should Be Tuesday

  19. Pingback: Rereading The Great Hunt, chapters 29-32 | Every Day Should Be Tuesday

  20. Pingback: Rereading The Great Hunt, chapters 33-36 | Every Day Should Be Tuesday

  21. Pingback: December 2020 Month-in-Review and 2020 Year-in-Review | Every Day Should Be Tuesday

  22. Pingback: Wheel of Time TV Show gets pre-release Greenlight for Season 2 | Every Day Should Be Tuesday

  23. Pingback: Rereading The Great Hunt, chapter 37 | Every Day Should Be Tuesday

  24. Pingback: Amazon Releases Wheel of Time Trailer – My Analysis and Wild Suppositions | Every Day Should Be Tuesday

  25. Pingback: Wild Speculation – Mapping Out the First Season of the Wheel of Time | Every Day Should Be Tuesday

  26. Pingback: Rereading The Great Hunt, chapters 38-42 | Every Day Should Be Tuesday

  27. Pingback: Rereading The Great Hunt, chapters 43-44 | Every Day Should Be Tuesday

  28. Pingback: Rereading The Great Hunt, chapters 45-46 | Every Day Should Be Tuesday

  29. Pingback: Rereading The Great Hunt, chapters 47-50 | Every Day Should Be Tuesday

Leave a comment