Throwback SF Thursday: Two Months In

I announced Throwback SF Thursday just over two months ago on July 14.  I hoped not to have to mail a post in quite so soon, but there is no denying that it has been a good couple of months.  I’ve reviewed a Burroughs movie adaptation and one of Burroughs’ novels, I read my first Poul Anderson, and I’ve discussed three works covered by Gary Gygax’s Appendix N.  Kristine Kathryn Rusch introduced me to most of the great female writers of Vintage SF with her wonderful anthology.  I split my coverage between four Retro SF posts and four Vintage SF posts.

pulp-bookshelf

Throwback SF Thursday: Review of The Legend of Tarzan

For my first post I got to review a very well timed Tarzan movie, my first.  It departs, I suspect, quite a bit from Tarzan’s pulp roots, but it is an admirably, and very entertaining, modern adaptation.

Throwback SF Thursday: The High Crusade by Poul Anderson

I picked a good one.  The High Crusade was listed in Appendix N, was nominated for a Hugo, and has a gonzo premise that you would never see today.  There are at least a couple other things you won’t see today, and it’s hilarious to boot.

Throwback SF Thursday: Cirsova vol. 1

The renewed interest in vintage SF doesn’t just mean more people reading vintage SF.  It means more people writing and publishing retro SF.  This magazine of weird and heroic fantasy is a welcome addition.

Throwback SF Thursday: Cirsova vol. 2

Cirsova outdoes itself with its second issue, if only because it features a novella by Schuyler Hernstrom instead of just a short story.  It also features an essay by Kristine Kathryn Rusch that convinced me to seek out an advance copy of Women of Futures Past.

Throwback SF Thursday: Pirates of Venus by Edgar Rice Burroughs

No, the new Tarzan doesn’t count.  Pirates of Venus was my first Burroughs book.  Hardly his best thought of, as I gather, but a thoroughly enjoyable experience nonetheless.  Notable, among other things, for perhaps being the inspiration for Tolkien’s use of giant spiders.

Throwback SF Thursday: Old Venus, edited by George R.R. Martin and Gardner Dozois

I picked Pirates of Venus to complement my copy of Old Venus.  Only one story, though, was a real Burroughs pastiche.  Most of the rest were a little disappointing.

Throwback SF Thursday: Women of Futures Past, edited by Kristine Kathryn Rusch

I had somehow not read any of the writers featured here.  It was a great way to introduce myself to some of the greats, most notably the Big Three-C.L. Moore, Leigh Brackett, and Andre Norton.

Throwback SF Thursday: Hiero’s Journey by Sterling Lanier

A book I admittedly read before I started this series, Hiero’s Journey is worth dragging back out to talk about.  We don’t give nearly enough attention to the threat of Canadian telepaths invading our country by moose, accompanied by bear.

About H.P.

Blogs on books at Every Day Should Be Tuesday (speculative fiction) and Hillbilly Highways (country noir and nonfiction). https://everydayshouldbetuesday.wordpress.com/ https://hillbillyhighways.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Sundry, Throwback SF and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Throwback SF Thursday: Two Months In

  1. pcbushi says:

    Not too bad for two months!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: We’re Number 2! We’re Number 2! | Every Day Should Be Tuesday

Leave a comment