Big Read: The Dark Tower Series

I’ve had my eye on Stephen King’s The Dark Tower series for a while.  And I’ve been wanting to do either a re-read series or first read series at Every Day Should Be Tuesday.  What better reason to finally get off of my butt (figuratively…I’m literally sitting down at the moment) and get started than the AWESOME trailer for The Dark Tower movie?

I hereby announce my Big Read of The Dark Tower series.  Every Monday I will post a recap and reaction to what I read the week before.  I’ve read The Stand and The Eyes of the Dragon, so this won’t be my first encounter with the Man in Black.  And of course a lot of stuff has filtered down through pop culture over the years, and I watched the trailer and will watch the movie when it comes out (I probably won’t be done with the Big Read by then).

But I’m walking into this as a noob, and I want to keep it that way.  If you’ve already read The Dark Tower series, I hope that you will be able to relive that first read experience through me.  But, please, NO SPOILERS in the comments.  If you haven’t read the series, it’s not too late to pick up a copy of the Gunslinger and starting read along with me.

I have added a Dark Tower tag that you can use to follow along.  I will also add links to my post each week to this page, so it will act as an index of sorts and you can just bookmark this page.  You can also follow me on Twitter, Google Plus, and Facebook.

“The man in Black fled across the Desert, and the Gunslinger followed.”

 

The Gunslinger – Resumption

The Gunslinger  The Way Station

About H.P.

Blogs on speculative fiction books at Every Day Should Be Tuesday.
This entry was posted in Fantasy, Post-Apocalyptic, Sundry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Big Read: The Dark Tower Series

  1. Tammy says:

    I’m so excited for you to experience this series! Keep in mind that SK wrote this over the course of 30 years, so The Gunslinger is quite different from the last few books. If I didn’t have so many review obligations I would join you.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I have not yet read this series. It’s been on my to-read list for a long time.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Nathan says:

    I bought a used copy of The Gunslinger years ago. I still have not touched it. Maybe the movie will get me moving on it too.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. S. C. Flynn says:

    Good luck! I have read the first two and that is probably as far as I will go.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. One of my favorites. Enjoy.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Stephen says:

    I read books 1-4 and it was amazing books 1 & 4 being my favorites. I could never finish book 5.

    Why are they changing the main character to black? Because diversity? After seeing the star wars disasters and skipping hobbit 2 & 3, this movie looks like a solid “pass”. I’m not gonna pay for them to screw up another franchise.

    Liked by 1 person

    • H.P. says:

      Idris Elba is a damned fine actor. I suspect that was the primary motivation. As big a Matthew McConaughey fan as I am, I have a harder time seeing him as Randall Flagg (I’ve read The Stand and The Eyes of the Dragon so I’m no stranger to the Man in Black).

      I have plans to force myself to watch the entirety of the Hobbit “trilogy” all the way through as some point, but it’s going to take a while to stockpile that much whiskey.

      Like

  7. Christy Luis says:

    Great idea! Teenage me hated book 1, but I should probably reread it before the movie comes out. Convince me with your recap and maybe I’ll actually do it! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

