My Holiday Reading List

As the semester finally begins grinding to a halt, I have high hopes of getting more reading done over the next month. Probably far too high of hopes, but there’s nothing wrong with aspirational goals.  It’s a grab bag of books, but high on my list are finishing up a number of academic books I’ve started and let linger and getting an early start on reading vintage science fiction in anticipation of Vintage Sci Fi Month (in January).

 

Vintage Sci Fi Month

I haven’t set every book, but I’m planning on leaning on the books I already have on my shelf. I’m thinking The Demolished Man, The Forever War, a Heinlein, and something pulpy.

the-demolished-man-coverthe-forever-war-cover

 

Academic Books to Finish

Made to Stick, The Paradox of Choice, The Moral Economy, and Consumer Credit and the American Economy are all languishing in my currently reading pile and need to be cleared out.

made-to-stick-coverparadox-of-choice-coverMoral Economy coverconsumer-credit-and-the-am-economy-cover

 

The Alchemy Wars by Ian Tregillis

Ian Tregillis may be my favorite new writer from the past decade. I have the first two books in his Alchemy Wars trilogy(?), The Mechanical and The Rising, but I haven’t read them yet. With book three, The Liberation, out in a couple weeks, now is a good time to start.

mechanical-coverRising coverjpgliberation-cover

 

Remnants of Trust by Elizabeth Bonesteel

Space opera isn’t usually my style, but I very much enjoyed Bonesteel’s first book in the series, The Cold Between, and I look forward to reading my review copy of Remnants of Trust.

remnants-of-trust-cover

 

Retro Magazines

I’m very behind.  Cirsova No. 3 and Skelos No. 1 continue to languish on my bookshelf, and Cirsova No. 4 should be arriving any day now.

cirsova-vol-3-covercirsova-vol-4-coverskelos-vol-1-cover

 

The Burning Isle by Will Panzo

Once upon a time I actually read ARCs in a timely manner. The Burning Isle I even requested. And I’ve had it for months now. Anyway, I’m looking forward to it. I don’t read enough straight up fantasy anymore, even if it does bear the dreaded “grimdark” label.

burning-isle-cover

 

Blood of Innocents and A Shattered Empire by Mitchell Hogan

Speaking of straight-up fantasy, the Sorcery Ascendant Sequence could have been published in the 90s. And I mean that as a compliment. I enjoyed A Crucible of Souls, but I’ve been letting my review copies of Blood of Innocents and A Shattered Empire sit neglected. And how cool is that cover for book 3?

blood-of-innocents-coverShattered Empire cover

 

Death’s End by Cixin Liu, translated by Ken Liu

Remembrance of Earth’s Past is probably my favorite science fiction series ever based on the first two books.  The Three-Body Problem rightfully won a Hugo and The Dark Forest was criminally underappreciated.  I really look forward to finishing the series with Death’s End.  I just need to decide whether I should stick with the kindle version or go ahead and my a complete set of hardcovers.

Deaths End cover

 

English History

Reading The Plague of Swords has me fired up to read more English history (I’m working on a 5+ year kick now).  I will have to decide between Marc Morris’ biography of King John and Dan Jones’ history of The War of the Roses.  I highly recommend their previous books, The Norman Conquest and The Plantagenets, respectively.

king-john-coverwar-of-the-roses-cover

 

Hillbilly Studies

Everybody is talking about J.D. Vance’s Hillbilly Elegy and I have a copy sitting on my shelf. It will form a welcome addendum to Night Comes to the Cumberlands, I hope.  On the fiction side, I’m very much looking forward to Ron Rash’s latest, The Risen.

hillbilly-elegy-coverrisen-cover

 

I had better stop typing and start reading…

About H.P.

Blogs on speculative fiction books at Every Day Should Be Tuesday.
This entry was posted in Sundry. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to My Holiday Reading List

  1. pcbushi says:

    A great list, there. I want to read about the War of the Roses sometime – let us know how that one is, in particular!

    And oh shiz, I didn’t know January is vintage scifi month. Then again, every month has turned into vintage scifi month for me, heh. Let me know if you’re interested in doing a joint read for your last (pulpy) entry! We could both write up posts about something.

    Liked by 1 person

    • H.P. says:

      I’m not sure how big Vintage Sci Fi Month is–the Little Red Reviewer and Red Star Reviews are the primary organizers–but I’m happy to pitch in and maybe get it some momentum.

      Good call on a pulp. Let’s chat about it.

      I think this is the first book about the War of Roses I will have read, but Goodwin and Starkey’s book about the battle of Towton is pretty good (and isn’t just about the battle).

      Liked by 1 person

      • pcbushi says:

        Anything on your shelf that you’re thinking about for January? I’m thinking of doing a little Black Friday book shopping, if you’re considering some stuff I don’t have yet. 😉

        Like

  2. Tammy says:

    Wow, ambitious holiday reading plan! Good luck, you’ve got some awesome books planned:-)

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I have an Arthur C Clarke book I need to write up a review on, maybe I’ll shoot for January.

    I enjoyed the Forever war, but I was pretty young when I read it. I hope it’s as good as I remember.

    I’ve just finished Cirsova #3. I think the stories set in the Caribbean were my favorites.

    Will you review the academic books here? The Moral Economy sounds interesting – I’m hoping there’s something good in there. Made to Stick sounds like an interesting premise, but strikes me as a book that won’t manage to deliver. “More is Less” sounds like something a communist nanny-stater would tell you, so they can proceed to give you far fewer choices, all bad.

    Liked by 1 person

    • H.P. says:

      I may talk about the academic books a little bit.

      The Moral Economy is a bit dry, but it deals with the fascinating (to me) phenomenon that implicit and internal incentives can be as powerful or more than explicit and external incentives, something economists and policymakers do a poor job accounting for, in part because they’re hard to see and measure.

      Made to Stick is really good. “Less Is More” is the post-colon portion of the title of The Paradox of Choice. The underlying social science–that too many choices can lead to less satisfaction–is very interesting, but I’m not sure why it needs book-length treatment, and Schwartz comes off as a little overheated about it.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. bormgans says:

    You’re lucky: The Demolished Man «is» pulpy… 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Pingback: Review of The Plague of Swords by Miles Cameron | Every Day Should Be Tuesday

Leave a Reply

