Top Ten Tuesday – My Fall TBR Pile

So many good books, so little time!  And with how busy I am, my fall TBR pile is going to wind up looking like a December TBR pile.  But such is life.

(Hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.)

 

Andrew Jackson: His Life and Times by H.W. Brands

andrew-jackson-cover

I’m going to cheat and start with a book I’m reading right now because it’s fabulous.  This is my seventh year reading presidential bios in order, and this one is the best I’ve read since Chernow’s bio of George Washington.  It’s also much better than Brands’ book on the founding of Texas.

 

The Walking Dead, Vol. 26: Call to Arms

Walking Dead vol 26 cover

I preordered the latest volume of The Walking Dead (I wait for the bound volumes to read them) but I left it sitting at home while I was on a work trip.  Soon!

 

The Tengu’s Game of Go by Lian Hearn

Tengus Game of Go cover

Hearn is publishing her four-part Tale of Shikanoko all this year and The Tengu’s Game of Go is out today.  I’m almost through with volume three of Hearn’s heavily Japanese influenced epic.

 

The Wall of Storms by Ken Liu

Wall of Storms cover

Speaking of epics inspired by Asian myth, history, and classical literature, I was approved for book 2 in Liu’s Dandelion Dynasty over the weekend.  Book 1 had a War and Peace-esque sweep to it (albeit at far lesser length) but faltered a bit toward the end, so I’m very interested to see where Liu takes it from there.

 

The Risen by Ron Rash

risen-cover

Speculative fiction dominates my reading these days, but I splurged on some country noir the other week.  And I don’t let new novels by Rash get stale on my shelves.

 

Hillbilly Elegy by J.D. Vance

hillbilly-elegy-cover

I rounded out my country noir book haul with some hillbilly studies.  Vance’s personal cultural anthropology is also the sort of thing I don’t usually let pass me by, and Hillbilly Elegy is hot right now, especially among people looking to explain Trump who are greatly confused as to just how many hillbillies there are in the country.

 

Death’s End by Cixin Liu, translated by Ken Liu

Deaths End cover

I did NOT get an advanced copy of Death’s End, but Remembrance of Earth’s Past might be my favorite science fiction series of all time (admittedly not saying much, if you consider I’m very much a baby sci fi reader).  After The Three-Body Problem getting so much well deserved attention, The Dark Forest was almost ignored.  Hopefully that changes with Death’s End.

 

Exploded View by Sam McPheeters

Exploded View cover

I DID get approved for an ARC of Exploded View, and I’m very much looking forward to McPheeters’ vision of ultra-high tech policing.

 

The War of the Roses: The Fall of the Plantagenets and the Rise of the Tudors by Dan Jones

war-of-the-roses-cover

Putting this on a fall TBR list may be wishful thinking, but I was a huge fan of Jones’ history of the Plantagenets and jumped on the next volume in England’s history when I spotted a used hardcover in a beach town bookshop.

 

The Plague of Swords by Miles Cameron

plague-of-swords-cover

Remembrance of Earth’s Past may be my favorite ongoing science fiction series, but The Traitor Son Cycle is my favorite ongoing series period, not just my favorite ongoing fantasy series.  Looking for more fantasy with deep roots in medieval history while you wait on the next A Song of Ice and Fire book?  Pick up The Red Knight.  You may forget all about that other series.

 

(I have been provided with advance copies of The Tengu’s Game of Go and The Wall of Storms by the respective publishers.  I’m told an advance copy of Exploded View is coming.)

About H.P.

Blogs on speculative fiction books at Every Day Should Be Tuesday.
This entry was posted in Sundry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Top Ten Tuesday – My Fall TBR Pile

  1. Louise says:

    I haven’t heard of The Wall of Storms or Ken Liu’s other books, but between your description and that cover, I really want to give them a try.

    <a href="https://ellisferrell.wordpress.com/2016/09/27/top-10-tuesday-fall-tbr/My TTT

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hello, just wanted to say that I enjoy your blog and I am looking forward to reading your reviews!
    All the best, AJ

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

