Book Haul Post: Old School Edition

I don’t normally bother with book haul posts.  One, I try not to buy too many books.  Two, I’m fairly ashamed when I do, since I already have dozens of books I haven’t read.  Three, I usually buy books one by one, and online, which is boring.

But I’ve been in Colorado the past week and a half, and I finally took my host’s recommendation and visited Poor Richard’s.  Yes, that is a Ben Franklin reference. Befitting that, Poor Richard’s is four businesses in one: a pizza joint, a toy store, a cafe, and a bookstore.  For rather obvious reasons, it was the bookstore that garnered my particular attention.  Well, in other circumstances, I would be mostly interested in the pizza joint or cafe, or wherever I could most easily order a beer.  But this bookstore was special.

You see, it was (mostly) a used bookstore.  Which isn’t that rare, but this bookstore had the rare advantage of being well stocked with the old lions of SF.  A great many slim volumes, but I escaped with three Vance, a Lieber, a Norton, and a Zelazny.

book haul 7

 

Jack Vance

The Narrow Land

The Many Worlds of Magnus Ridolph

Marune: Alastar 933

 

Fritz Lieber

Heroes and Horrors

 

Andre Norton

Web of the Witch World

 

Roger Zelazny

Dilvish, The Damned

About H.P.

Blogs on speculative fiction books at Every Day Should Be Tuesday.
This entry was posted in Sundry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Book Haul Post: Old School Edition

  1. Pingback: Announcing Throwback SF Thursdays | Every Day Should Be Tuesday

Leave a Reply

