Thinking About the 2016 Hugo Awards – Introduction

It’s almost that time again.  No, it is that time again.  If you want to nominate for the Hugo Awards and you weren’t a member of Sasquan, you need to buy a membership now.  The deadline to nominate is Sunday (January 31).  You can nominate if you were a member of Sasquan or buy a membership for MidAmeriCon II, but you will need to buy a membership to MidAmeriCon to actually vote.  You can nominate with just a supporting membership (now up to $50 from the $40 last year), and you can upgrade your membership to attending at what appears to be no additional cost later (that’s what I’m doing—I hope to make it, but I’ve learned better than to commit too early).  As always, there will be an electronic packet of Hugo nominees well worth the cost of a supporting membership.  Nominations are supposed to open this week.

I want to get as many ideas about stuff I think is great out there as early as possible so y’all can bask in my wisdom, so I’m not going to do a post on my actual nominating ballot like I did with my votes last year.  Instead I will do a series of posts category-by-category and instead of listing my actual nominees I will divide works into tiers.  That is, I will divide them roughly by Hugo-worthy and almost-Hugo-worthy.  What actually winds up on my ballot will depend.  I will keep putting up posts as long as I have works to talk about—e.g., a post on the Best Novel category will go up tomorrow, but I will have at least one more post about that category.  I will try to link to as many actual reviews as possible.

Strider is indifferent to Hugo Awards controversy. And to Jessica Jones.

Strider is indifferent to Hugo Awards controversy. And to Jessica Jones.

I’m also going to play this straight up, at least for now.  If you want meta-commentary on likely Hugo nominees and winners, check out Chaos Horizon.  There isn’t anything wrong with that per se, but there is entirely too much meta-commentary relative to substantive commentary on entirely too many topics (and besides, Chaos Horizon does it much better than I ever could).  I’m here for the books so that’s what I’m going to talk about.  I will build on my pre– and post-Hugo Awards Puppies posts as useful, but I’m really hoping that this year doesn’t devolve into a battle between groups who care more about political fights than books or into a bunch of reactionary, old, white men trying to bar the doors to diverse women.

6-pic

The categories for the 2016 Hugo Awards are:

  • Best Novel – my thoughts, part 1
  • Best Novella
  • Best Novelette
  • Best Short Story
  • Best Related Work
  • Best Graphic Story – my thoughts, part 1
  • Best Dramatic Presentation, Long Form
  • Best Dramatic Presentation, Short Form
  • Best Editor, Short Form
  • Best Editor, Long Form
  • Best Professional Artist
  • Best Semiprozine
  • Best Fanzine
  • Best Fancast
  • Best Fan Writer – my thoughts
  • Best Fan Artist
  • The John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer (the Hugo that isn’t a Hugo)
About H.P.

Blogs on speculative fiction books at Every Day Should Be Tuesday.
This entry was posted in Sundry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Thinking About the 2016 Hugo Awards – Introduction

  1. Cirsova says:

    ” a bunch of reactionary, old, white men trying to bar the doors to diverse women.”

    I see what you did there!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

