Book Haul Post: Post-Christmas Edition

Santa and his elves got to work so I have some shiny new books to brag about.  And by Santa I mean my employer, who was kind enough to pay my bonus in dollars—crisp, clean, American—instead of a jelly of the month membership (although that is the gift that keeps on giving the whole year).  And by elves I mean me, because I did all the heavy lifting of pushing the appropriate buttons to cause a small army of people to spring into action and get said books from some warehouse somewhere to my house here (capitalism!).

Book Haul 1

It’s not exactly ten 2015 book purchases I didn’t get to read in 2015, but it’s damn sure close, so I’ll sidle up to Top Ten Tuesdays at the Broke and the Bookish anyway.

Book Haul 2

My haul is a mix of books I’ve just been excited about (e.g., Nigthwise, Emperor’s Blades, Black Wolves, Wake of Vultures) and books intended to round out my Hugo Awards reading pre-nominations, including Uprooted but more focused on non-novel categories, i.e., Best Related Work (How Star Wars Conquered the Universe), Best Novella (King of the Bastards), and Best Graphic Story (Darth Vader, Ms. Marvel, The Divine, The Autumnlands).  I’ve got fairy stories (Uprooted and Six-Gun Snow White), books by authors whose prior work I enjoyed but whose latest work I haven’t read (R.S. Belcher and Ian Tregillis), and books by authors who I’ve been wanting to read for a while now (Kate Elliott and Delilah Dawson).  I had never purchased a Star Wars book before in my life; I just bought three.  I think The Force Awakens did something right.

Book Haul 3

A few books I’m excited about that I haven’t purchased yet are The Dark Forest by Cixin Liu, Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo, and Son of the Black Sword by Larry Correia.  I’ve also had a copy of Time Salvager by Wes Chu for a while that I’ve been meaning to read.

 

NOVELS

Nightwise by R.S. Belcher

Emperor’s Blades (Book 1 in the Unhewn Throne Chronicles) by Brian Staveley

The Mechanical and The Rising (Books 1 & 2 in The Alchemy Wars) by Ian Tregillis

Black Wolves (Book 1 in The Black Wolves Trilogy) by Kate Elliott

The Aeronaut’s Windlass (Book 1 in The Cinder Spires) by Jim Butcher

Wake of Vultures by (Book 1 in The Shadow) Lila Bowen (Delilah Dawson)

Uprooted by Naomi Novik

Book Haul 4

 

RELATED WORKS

How Star Wars Conquered the Universe: The Past, Present, and Future of a Multibillion Dollar Franchise by Chris Taylor

Star Wars: The Force Awakens Visual Dictionary by Pablo Hidalgo

Book Haul 5

 

NOVELLAS

Six-Gun Snow White by Catherynne M. Valente

King of the Bastards by Brian Keene

Book Haul 6

 

GRAPHIC NOVELS

Star Wars: Darth Vader vol. 1 by Kieron Gillen

Ms. Marvel vols. 2, 3, and 4 by G. Willow Wilson

The Divine by Boaz Lavie

The Autumnlands vol. 1 by Kurt Busiek

About H.P.

Blogs on speculative fiction books at Every Day Should Be Tuesday.
This entry was posted in Sundry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Book Haul Post: Post-Christmas Edition

  1. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday – Ten Books On My Spring TBR | Every Day Should Be Tuesday

Leave a Reply

